Day 268: Working Girl

Ladies and gentlemen, I am employed.

I know, I know. Whaaaaaaaat?

Sometimes I swear I just blink my eyes and the entire world is completely different. Things happen quickly and unexpectedly these days. And, while it’s scary in some moments, others are pretty exciting and amazing.

I was out with one of my good friends from my old restaurant job having coffee before my trip to Ireland. She mentioned that her father was looking to hire help in his office, and quick. I told her about my upcoming trip, and let her know that if he was still looking when I got back, I’d love to talk with him. She gave me his email address and told me to send a note and a resumé. So, before taking off on my adventure, I did just that.

I didn’t really have any high hopes. I figured that if he needed to hire someone right away, the job would be spoken for before I even took off for Ireland. And, when I didn’t hear back from him after sending my email, I wrote it off completely.

When I returned from my trip, my friend met me for coffee again and asked about my plans to meet her father. I told her that I hadn’t heard from him, and so I had just assumed that the opportunity had come and gone. She said that he’d told her he was very interested, but, is completely disorganized. So, he’d probably just forgotten to send me an email. She called him later that day, and within the hour I got an email asking me when I’d be available for a meeting with him.

Well, today, we met and I was hired on the spot. Not only that, but, I start Wednesday, the day after tomorrow.

Holy crap. When did all this happen? I feel like I landed on US soil and my life’s suddenly gone topsy turvy. But, I’m so grateful today. All this change is overwhelming, but, I’m in forward motion. It feels good. Scary, but good.

So, in two days time I’ll be a legal assistant here in Portland. I’ll be back to supporting myself again. I’ll have a purpose. I’ll have an opportunity to be useful and to meet new people and learn new things. And, I’m really excited. I feel like all the pieces are starting to fall into place. And, while I still struggle to see the big picture sometimes, I know that my higher power is looking out for me. And, that’s a huge comfort in my life.

So, tonight, I’m going to relax and enjoy the fact that tomorrow will be my last of leisure, for a while anyway. And, I’m going to call my friend and thank her for looking out for me. It’s nice to know that the people in my life support me, and it’s a healthy reminder that when I’m actively staying connected to the positive and kind people in my life, good things happen.

Leave a Reply

